1 year later; happier but still clueless!

I think this might actually become a thing, writing on my birthday or just before. Whatever it is, it’s now a thing. It’s probably the closest I will ever get to writing myself a love letter. I’ve been meaning to do that for years but somehow I just can’t word it correctly. Funny it maybe, but that’s how it is. Not for a lack of self love, I am just struggling to get to it. So last year I wrote about how my birthday is clothed in sad memories. Not sure if I mentioned the self doubt,(number one enemy) comparison and imposter syndrome on steroids that consume me as April begins. I really just start letting all the negative energy wear me down. This year Tafadzwa started to countdown ten days ago 🤣 I had even forgotten about it. My extremely hyperactive mind starts asking me what I have done or what I can show for the three odd decades I have walked this earth.Sometimes (read most times) I draw a blank. Instead I just spiral and wallow into a rank and filthy, shallow pool of self pity. It’s not pleasant there, I shit you not! Add in a slideshow of all your most cringe worthy moments in HD, sigh.

This year though, I have let down the baggage even though I didn’t start counting down early like Tafadzwa. I am actually really looking forward to what I will do this year. Last year was amazing, the way I have become my greatest asset astounds me. I actually believe in myself, even if half the time I have no idea what I’m doing 🙈. But I’m just excited to see what this new year of my life will bring. The resolution is to enter at least one writing competition, just one. What am I gifting myself? I do have my eyes on a couple of things😏, those who know me know I gift myself too much!!! But chileeee, feed the body that works like a boss! I watched a video on IG and this guy spoke about how much we complain  and invite negative energy on our birthdays, can’t find the link to add it here so this year I am affirming all the beautiful things. This year I am gaining wisdom, wealth, good health, glowing skin, strength and all around success.

Ps. I don’t share my cake

One Comment Add yours

  1. NASHE says:

    Being an April baby as well, I do not like how much I relate to this post. Turned 30 on the 6th and it was one of the longest days ever.PS : I don’t like cake anyways 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment